Brexit

brexit-1478565_1920Trump. This word is sure to elicit a plethora of emotional responses from Americans in the form of passionate defenses, outraged explosions, shaking of the head, extreme nationalism, and generally turning otherwise sane people into crazed political experts.

In the United Kingdom everyone wants my opinion on Trump the second they learn I’m American. No kidding, it’s seriously the very next question I’m asked 98% of the time. “Oh are you American? Tell me, what are your thoughts on Trump?”

It can be very tiresome.

However, the UK is not immune to such emotional connotations about words. Just say the word “Brexit” around here and people will suddenly (and often loudly) respond with passionate defenses, outraged explosions, shaking of the head, extreme nationalism, and generally turning otherwise sane people into crazed political experts. Sound familiar?

For my American readers who don’t know too much about world politics (and I’m guessing that’s many considering the American media is painfully focused on Donald Trump and Kim Kardashian’s latest sweater) Brexit was the political movement leading to a nation-wide vote on whether or not the United Kingdom should leave the European Union.

As an outsider (who similarly knows not much of world politics), it was a complete circus.

It was also a very close vote.

Most importantly, it’s literally tearing this country into pieces and is painful to watch.

My position as an outsider has led me into a series of very interesting conversations about this vote, what it might mean for the country, and what it means for the heritage sector. My position has also made me very aware that I do not know enough about European or British politics to make an educated advocacy for one position or the other, which is perhaps why people just candidly inform me what they think of it all, and why I should think that too.

The reaction to Brexit has been absolutely overwhelming. While I can’t comment on the vote itself, I can analyze the way people have been talking about it, and what it might do to the heritage industry.

To start, it sounds to me like most young people didn’t fully understand what the vote was all about. Brian and I were in London the day the results were announced and I don’t know how many under-30s were saying “well I voted leave as a gaff but I didn’t think it would actually happen. D’you think I can still take that job in Italy?” The under-30s I overheard that weekend who were a bit more serious with their vote were 100% devastated, blaming the older generation for ruining the future.

Haven’t we always?

It was great fun being in London the day after the vote, I’ll never forget the day Brian asked me to be in a partnership with him forever is the day Great Britain voted to end their partnership with Europe. The words of the great poet Beyonce come to mind, “If you liked it then you should have put a ring one it.” Or in lieu of Queen Bey, based on my previous posts one might say that Great Britain no longer wishes to be engaged with the EU.

I seriously am loving all the opportunities to engage with my blog. I wonder if I’ll be allowed to write a satirical thesis on the effects of audience engagement?

On a more serious note the most interesting divide I’ve seen happen thus far is within the Churches Conservation Trust. Everyone I’ve spoken to in the office had voted remain (as in remain in the EU), and were cut up about the country voting leave. This is in part because the type of person attracted to a heritage job will inevitably be quite liberal and holistic-minded, and in part because we all know where money comes from. The honest truth seems to be that the UK will no longer be able to apply for European grants (and even if they did there is no way Germany would let them have it), government money will need to reallocated (and we all know where cuts happen first), and private donors are less likely to give to cultural institutions during times of extreme uncertainty.

On the flip side, many of the volunteers (albeit none of the young ones) voted leave, and felt uncomfortable talking about their decision without being branded a nationalistic isolationist. The most uncomfortable interactions were between volunteers themselves, with leavers discussing the vote with foreign volunteers, all of whom while not actually worried about deportation are truly upset by the result. I’m sad to say I literally heard one person say “oh, I’d never want to deport so-and-so, it’s the other more dangerous immigrants that are the problem.” Right.

The country seems to have been completely divided on this line, with each party pitting themselves against the other. I’ve noticed that those who voted leave are choosing to remain silent about the fact and refuse to talk about it for fear of being attacked for racism and voting based on nationalistic fear. The same person quoted above told me “now I’m afraid to discuss my views with people for being branded a racist. All we want is more stability in this nation and more control over who is allowed in.” Right. (Even though I am told immigration is left to individual countries but that’s none of my business. Insert mental image of  the Kermit drinking tea meme.) I get the impression that no one knew what was going to happen, no one had a plan for either outcome of the vote, and basically most people are a bit confused about the whole thing. The most popular search AFTER the vote in the UK was “What is the EU.”

I’m honestly not sure how this will all work out, or how people will be able to put aside their differences. At the end of the day it seems to me like whatever the UK chooses to do your neighbors are still your neighbors and everyone will have to navigate the new changes together.

On a charming, if somewhat bizarre note, the entire country seems united against Boris Johnson being appointed the foreign affairs secretary. Unity at its finest?

At least one good thing to come of all this is the appointment of Theresa May as Prime Minister after David Cameron dramatically resigned the morning after the vote. (Side note- Americans, please watch Cameron give his last address to parliament, it is British government at its finest and I sincerely wish American congressmen could borrow a bit of British humour.) I have no thoughts on whether Mrs. May will make a good leader or not, but the very fact that the media has had to self-criticize themselves for commenting more on her shoes than her policies is, in my eyes, a very good thing. Hopefully we will have a leader, not “the first female prime minister since Margaret Thatcher.” (Insert serious eye-roll.) I do think that the appointment of women into leadership positions is a good thing if only for revealing the differences women face in the workplace. My favorite overhead quote regarding Theresa May is “I don’t care if the woman comes to work naked, I just want to know why the hell she put Boris in charge of anything at all.”

Preach.

Brexit has taught me some important lessons on communication and love, and hopefully has taught the world some of the same. We shouldn’t sacrifice our relationships with each other over politics- especially the pretty shit politics of our day. Maybe we should all just play Pokemon Go a little more and yell at each other over Brexit (or Trump/Hilary) a little less.

Love, K

xx

 

One thought on “Brexit

  1. very interesting post. great to hear about your experience of Brixit. I found a very similar generational split in Scotland–older people wanted to stay a part of Britain, younger generation wanted to break. In the Brixit case, however, the generational split reversed.

    Like

Leave a comment